Daily Archives: January 1, 2011

2010: adventure. change. faith.

It’s hard to believe that 2010 is already gone. 2010 was by far the most eventful year of my life. If I could sum one year up into only a few words, I would use: adventure, change and faith.

Right off in January, God started transforming my heart for China. He gave me a clear calling in February and from that point on, I knew I’d end up across the world. In March I got accepted to pharmacy school. In April, I was accepted to the East Asia Summer Project with Campus Crusade. In May, I graduated from Wayne State College and was off to China for a majority of the summer. Through all of this there was never a dull moment, yet battles in my mind took place between pharmacy school and China.

Adventure. Life is full of twists and turns, however, I wasn’t expecting this excitement in one year. I went from a college graduate to a pharmacy student to a missionary. I was in China a fourth of 2010, experiencing life in a different country. I’ve experienced new places, new faces, a whole new culture. I’ve enjoyed living in an apartment in Omaha close to my family and living life with a close friend. Ever since I left pharmacy school my life has been always changing. One plan shifts to a whole new idea for my life, and it’s still changing. It reminds me that God is sovereign and He knows what’s best for me, no matter how often my “life” plan changes!

Change. In the midst of transitioning from schooling and missions work, God has been changing my plans and transforming my heart. I’ve learned how to fully rely on Christ for strength. God’s taught me to be dependent on nothing in this world, but on Him and Him only. He’s changed my life and my whole outlook on life, conforming it to His will. God’s changed my desires and passions to look more like His. Change has been prevalent in this year and will continue to be a constant part of the rest of my life. It’s taught me to be flexible to God’s plan and has helped me to trust in Him more.

Faith. This year I’ve grown in my faith more than any other time in my life. Because of this adventure and change, I’ve had to trust Jesus and what He does in my life, no matter if I like it or not. It’s not easy to leave everything I’ve ever known and loved, yet I’ve never been so sure of a calling before. My faith has been strengthened as I’ve relied on Him and I know that He is still working to increase my faith even more.

God is good, 2010 was unforgettable. It’s a year that has impacted my life forever. I praise God for His goodness and faithfulness in this year and trust that He will provide for the many years to come!!