persecution.

I have four days left in Beijing. We came yesterday to teach our last English camp with the students. Our normal building (a Bible college that was a “hotel”) was being used, so we planned to teach at the university for the day and head to our normal area later that evening. We arrived at the university, met up with our friends, and went to the cafeteria to eat.

Thirty minutes later, we were told we had to jet. The campus had received word that Americans were on campus and to keep an close eye on us. Our team left immediately, unsure what to do next. Whatever it was, it was not going to be teaching.

We all fled the campus, hopped on a public bus, and arrived at the school’s fellowship location. The team was a bit worried, but somehow I had peace. I have been in these situations before with interactions with campus security and police and prayed fervently for protection over our team, but more so for the safety of believers on that campus.

Once we arrived at the fellowship building, there was nothing for us to do, so the team went to the Great Wall. Later, we finally got to our normal location for the camp, and enjoyed a fun night building relationships and seeking opportunities to share the Good News.

I woke early this morning refreshed and ready to commit today to the Lord. We enjoyed breakfast and gathered into our classes for the last time. It was then that one of our students shared that we needed to keep the volume down and stay indoors because there was a possibility the government was going to do their monthly routine on this “hotel”.

We continued to teach and play games with the students and every once in a while we were told what to do in case government officials did show up.

Lunch came around with an rest time to follow. I desired to be with the Lord, so I found a secluded room and had an hour and a half of undisturbed time in God’s Word, in prayer, and time to catch up in my journal. It was phenomenal. (I’ll share what I learned today in my next blog post.)

A few times, I took put my earbuds and listened to the noise around me. Even if there was screaming or an invasion, I’m not sure I would have heard. In fact, my voice was probably heard as I sang to my worship music blaring through my ears so loud I could no longer hear my voice.

The neat thing was, I didn’t care. If people invaded this Bible college and arrested me or even killed me, I would have been fine. The thought in my mind was when David said in Psalm 118:6 and 56:11: “What can man do to me?” I was in the Presence of my Lord Jesus and I was content. I was fully satisfied. I was drinking deeply from His words and feeling the Holy Spirit speak to me. I wouldn’t trade that hour and a half for anything else in the world!

By God’s provision, the government never came. Within these last few days, I’ve seen how crazy people in this world can be to attempt to obtain authority and power. I’m so grateful that my God is sovereign over all!!

Persecution is going on all over the world. China makes me more conscious and thankful for my freedom in America in worship, but because of persecution, my faith has been challenged and taken to a level that it’s never been before!! I’m grateful for persecution and suffering in our faith. Trials refine our faith and make us more radical. Pray for the persecuted around the world!!

 

One response to “persecution.

  1. Matthew Schneider

    Amazing stuff Jenn.

Leave a comment