one family.

Lately, I’ve been incredibly encouraged by the brothers and sisters all around the world. Some are in school, some are serving, and some are working… yet, no matter what we’re doing, we are always bonded by our heavenly Father!

These past few evenings, I’ve been blessed to have the time to connect with people back in the states, two friends in particular.

The first friend has become one of my closest friends. Having our friendship starting in China makes it easy connect with the Chinese people and culture. From the start of our friendship, we were put in the environment to grow together spiritually. We even grew spiritually before we became close friends. We had that connection with the Lord, but it wasn’t until later that we formed a close-knit friendship.

She constantly encourages me. I remember the first time I decided I wanted to be her friend. It was when we were in a women’s small group time and she called out greatness in me. She encouraged me and told me that she saw Jesus’ love reflected in my life by how I loved her, and everyone around me. It encouraged me more than she knows and I started to pursue our friendship. I learned she was a wise, rooted woman of God, along with someone who had a passion for people.

I talked to her last night, and was encouraged. We always talk about China and how God is good. We reminisced memories together in China, places, people, experiences, everything. I enjoyed every moment of our conversation, and after I got done talking to her, I realized how much I love her. She always encourages me. Every time I talk to her, she keeps me accountable, she loves me no matter what I tell her, and she calls out greatness in me. Our friendship was ordained by the Lord, and I’m so grateful to have her as a close friend.

My other friend is a newer friend. Even though we had mutual friends in high school, we don’t know each other all that well. As I talked to him and got to know him more, I saw his heart for the Lord. We encouraged each other spiritually, and I was amazed at how beautiful that was.

Anytime, anywhere, we as believers can gather with our fellow brothers and sisters. We can share things on our hearts and receive encouragement from our Lord through him or her. That’s what makes the body of Christ so beautiful and fascinating… we’re just sinners, living for the same purpose to glorify the same God on this temporary earth. Encouragement is needed on this journey. It’s not easy, but we have Jesus, who overcame everything in this world!

God is good, and there are believers all over the globe, hungry for community and encouragement. Find them, seek them, and let God use them in your lives. It’s great to have the body of believers bonded in unity in Jesus!!

Leave a comment