Mentorship & Erica

September 16, 2013

It was my second week at Beijing International Christian Fellowship (BICF). Since there is such high turnover in an international church, they always start by asking new people to introduce themselves and what they are doing along with those who are leaving Beijing. This particular Sunday, I heard a girl named Erica stand up and say, “I’m from America and will be studying at Beijing Language and Culture University for a semester.” My head turned as I heard my school named over the microphone. I stared over at her to catch a glimpse of her face, and made a mental note to catch her later to chat.

Over a lunch date on campus, I learned she was from Connecticut and was studying abroad for a semester. She told me about her life story and how God had given her a heart and passion for China. We shared the struggles of moving to a foreign country in a place where absolutely no one knows the real you. I saw her passion to grow spiritually and her desire to invest in her classmates. When I ran into her outside of campus the other day, I asked her if she wanted to start getting lunch once a week. Enthusiastically, she said yes!

Erica

Tonight, I stopped over at her dorm room in the international student building. After chatting about our classes, I told her my desire to invest in and mentor women younger than me. I asked her if I could have the privilege of spending time with her this semester and encouraging her in her walk. She told me that her strong community of believers back home worried about her spiritual growth while in China. When I asked her to lunch weekly a few days ago, the first thought in her head was, “God, maybe you sent Jenn to be a mentor to me!”

The funny thing is that God impressed on my heart to invest in those younger than me. He also reminded me the passion I have for encouraging disciples to keep seeking Him. I starting thinking about who was in my life, who loved the Lord, and who was eager to grow spiritually, and the first person I thought of was Erica. We’re catching lunch tomorrow and will do so each week.

I feel privileged to be able to invest in Erica for the next few months. My college years were crucial and essential to my spiritual growth and I would not be the person I am today with mentors that took the time to encourage me. So, I’m excited to challenge her with some similar challenges that have been given to me. It’ll be fun to share experiences together as we’re across the world from home and be able to process life together. And, I know God will bring us back to Him and remind us of the Gospel.

Thanks to all of you who have invested in me in any amount. You older women know who you are! You have taught me to love the Lord, love people, and seek out those around me and encourage them to keep chasing Jesus!

Leave a comment